I Spent the Weekend Intoxicated

It’s been a while since I’ve been intoxicated, but oh what a weekend I just had!

In recent weeks, I’d let myself get swept up in the cycle of commitments and responsibilities and had forgotten to take the time to slow down and soak in the enjoyment life!

1525397_10202440191023544_1318773862_nThis past weekend offered no respite from obligations, but I managed to weave a little, shall we say, natural high, into our driven schedule!

When I am under the influence, I tend to get a bit emotional. For the sanity of all who come in contact with me, I should wear a warning sign around my neck that reads:

“It’s not you. It’s me. I’m intoxicated right now.”

I don’t know how well that would be received, so perhaps, I should consider other ways of explaining my behavior.

I could give them a friendly hug and whisper into their ear, “I feel like I’m floating right now.”

Maybe I could simply take them by the hands, stand back, gaze into their eyes and say, “Looking at you … and realizing how much you mean to me … I can’t help but cry.”

I know! I’ll greet them with an embrace and then, once the hug concludes, I’ll squeal, “My body feels all tingly!”

Or, maybe I should quote the 18-year-old who spoke at church yesterday. He was visiting from a group called Teen Challenge and he said that he was “under the influence of the Holy Spirit.”

That’s it!

I was consumed by it all weekend long. The presence of the Holy Spirit!

I wept sporadically throughout the weekend, overwhelmed with God’s presence, adoration, and grace.Under Influence Spirit 2

As the guest speakers from Teen Challenge shared their testimony, it became clear to me that the phenomenal “high” we feel when we are consumed with the Holy Ghost is evidence of God’s unmeasured love for us.

It’s so natural.

So real.

So strong.

And completely indescribable.

It’s truly intoxicating.

It’s easy to get so overburdened with the tasks of our daily lives that we don’t take the time … or make the effort … to let the Holy Spirit penetrate our souls.

It’s really a shame, if you think about it.

In the amount of time it takes to drink a couple of beers or smoke a joint, we could spend in conversation with the Lord, inviting His spirit into our hearts and breathing Him in.

We could fall under the influence of His presence and, not only will our outlook on life change, but we won’t suffer any miserable side effects or hangovers (unless you count a craving for more, a side effect)!

Teen Challenge 3

Participants from Teen Challenge, Bakersfield, praising God!

Which Leads Me to Wonder …

What causes some people to have a passion … a craving … for the Holy Spirit, while others rarely consider the notion?

I was attending School of Ministry on Saturday and the pastor asked a similar question.

We all agreed that, when we first encounter God’s divine presence, we hunger for more. But, what creates that initial desire to search for it?

I’m sure it’s different for everybody.

Maybe Susie grew up in a faith-based family.

Or Bobby hit rock bottom and had nowhere else to turn.

Maybe Joe was diagnosed with a life-threatening illness.

When and how that desire develops is between God and each of His creations, but I’m amazed at His ability to meet us exactly where we are when we finally decide we’re genuinely and sincerely interested in encountering Him.

If you’ve never been under the influence of the Holy Spirit, let me tell you, you’re missing out on the best high of your life!

Under Influence Spirit

Intoxicated by the Presence of God

Teen Challenge is a 12-month residential program for all ages struggling with life-controlling addictions and it’s offered at no cost to the participant, which is incredible! Teen Challenge 2

I was inspired, listening to the testimonies of men and women, from teens to middle-aged adult, sharing about how the Word of God has become their new addiction, their strength, their “drug of choice”.

Anybody who has struggled with addiction, as I’ve seen in some of my children, knows that it’s a powerful demon. But, it can be defeated through the divine love and strength of an even more powerful God!

When I think of it, I’m convinced that we’re all under the influence of something on a regular basis. Whether it’s our boss, money, alcohol, food, shopping, our friends, you name it.

Why not make God our number one intoxicant? Why not experience the authority, strength, and peace that we can receive when we walk through each day, intoxicated by the presence of the Living God?

Teen Challenge

I love this photo of men from Teen Challenge, as the Holy Spirit rains down upon them. You can see it in their faces. AWESOME!

 

3 thoughts on “I Spent the Weekend Intoxicated

  1. Yes, Kim! I strongly encourage them to look into Teen Challenge. As the article states, it’s a one-year program, centered around Christ and overcoming addiction for all ages. AND IT’S FREE to participants. Let me know if you would like me to try to get more information on local chapters for you. I think your niece would benefit a great deal from something like this.

    Like

  2. Fantastic post Shawny! The Bible actually tells us to be “intoxicated” as you say with Holy Spirit, as opposed to getting intoxicated with wine.

    “Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit,”
    Ephesians 5:18(NIV)

    Great post. I find that I don’t often enough just get alone with God because of the business of life, and dwell on the blessing of who he is and what he has done for me. If we do this – it will pull us out of any slump the circumstances of this world can put us in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

